St. Louis Style Pork Ribs (Gas Grille)

Dry Rub:

  • 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder
  • 2 Tbsp Onion Powder
  • 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1 tsp Dry Mustard
  • 1 tsp Curry Powder
  • 1 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • I’ll add a generous dusting of Kosher Salt and Coarse Ground Black Pepper when I take them out of the fridge before cooking. And, I’ll use about 1 Cup (packed) of brown sugar (light or dark) to top them off just before they go on the cooker.

Refrigerate overnight. Remove from the fridge and allow the ribs to come back to room temp before grilling. I usually smoke these with charcoal and hardwood, but these two rib racks are going on my gas grille this time.

I soak some small apple wood chips in water overnight and then wrap in foil. Using the two outer burners of the 4, I’ll place the foil wrapped chips over the direct heat, which will give a bit of smoke vs. using the big chunks of wood in my charcoal cooker. We’ll see how much smoke flavor they have. It should take 4 – 5 hours @ 250 degrees. The target internal temp on the ribs will be 200 – 205.

Mopping Sauce:

  • 1/2 Cup Ketchup
  • 1/2 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar (light or dark)
  • 1 Tbsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1 tsp Coarse Ground Black Pepper
  • Bring all these ingredients to a simmer over low-medium heat and let cook in a saucepan for about 10 – 15 mins (don’t let it boil). I’ll use this mopping sauce about every 45 minutes after the first hour of cooking.
  • Once the ribs get to 170 degrees internal, I’ll wrap them in butcher paper. I sprinkle a little brown sugar on the butcher paper, place a few pats of salted butter, a drizzle of honey and then place the rib rack meat side down on those ingredients. Wrap each rack tightly and then place, meat side down, back in the cooker for 1 hour. After 1 hour, unwrap and check the internal temp. Continue using the mopping sauce until the ribs reach 200 – 205.
  • After they reach the target temp, rest them for 30 mins. Slice into individual ribs and “dig-IN.”
  • Drink bourbon responsibly during this entire process…. 😉

Leave a comment